Hub of lorry transport

BY: U M ABHIJITH

Every reporting assignment is a worthy experience for me. As always, I had the difficulty in figuring out a story idea. My professor suggested to do a story on a Truck Terminal in Madhavaram. The place was new to me and I was not even knowing what story to do on a truck terminal.

It took a considerable amount of time and money to reach the place. As I was informed that there are several truck drivers from the northern and eastern parts of India, I asked one of my friends who knew Hindi and Bengali fluently to accompany me. Thanks to her, I could communicate properly with the truck drivers.

The truck drivers were voluble. The major concern they shared were the hazards of demonetisation. Also when they had to stay back, they cook and sleep inside their truck itself. The untarred roads in the terminal makes the air filled with dust. The drivers treated us like guests, buying us tea.

I could not make a decent report, but as I mentioned in the beginning every reporting assignment is a worthy experience.

Leave a Reply

